Public Health

Healthy people, healthy communities
We are only as strong as the people within our communities, and that is why the department of Health & Social Development has a number of public health programs across our region.

The department’s public health programs focus upon disease prevention and promotion of health in Nunatsiavut communities. The Public Health Nurse, supported by other members of the Community Health Team, offers various services at the community level including immunizations programs, TB follow-up and awareness raising, sexual health promotion, HPV vaccination promotion and provision, communicable disease awareness raising, pandemic flu planning, rabies prevention (pet immunizations), and more.

For more information about Public Health in your community, please contact your local DHSD community office.

Nain

Joann Pye
Home Care Nurse
Department of Health and Social Development
1-709-922-2962
joann_pye@nunatsiavut.com

Marilyn MacGillivary
Relief Nurse
Department of Health and Social Development
1-709-922-2962
Marilyn_MacGillivary@nunatsiavut.com

Regina Saimat
Community Health Aide
Department of Health and Social Development
1-709-922-2962 ext. 238
Regina_Saimat@nunatsiavut.com

Betty Jararuse
Community Health Aide
Department of Health and Social Development
1-709-922-2962 ext.237
betty_jararuse@nunatsiavut.com

Hopedale

Kim Dicker
Community Health Nurse
Department of Health and Social Development
1-709-933-3894 ext. 230
Kim_Dicker@nunatsiavut.com

Rose Lucy
Community Health Aide
Department of Health and Social Development
1-709-933-3894 ext. 235
Rose_Lucy@nunatsiavut.com

Postville

Joan Goudie
Community Health Nurse
Department of Health and Social Development
1-709-479-9842
joan_goudie@nunatsiavut.com

Makkovik

Dawn Michelin
Public Health/Home Care Nurse
Department of Health and Social Development
1-709-923-2240
Dawn_Michelin@nunatsiavut.com

Kim Andersen
Community Health Aide
Department of Health and Social Development
1-709-923-2297
Kim_Andersen@nunatsiavut.com

Rigolet

Michelle Sheppard
Community Health Nurse
Department of Health and Social Development
1-709-947-3328 ext. 259
michelle_sheppard@nunatsiavut.com

Carly Blake
Community Health Aide
Department of Health and Social Development
1-709-947-3321 ext.257
carly_blake@nunatsiavut.com