



January 21, 2020 For Immediate Release

Edmunds elected to serve as First Minister

Members of the Nunatsiavut Assembly have elected Tyler Edmunds, the Ordinary Member for Postville, to serve as First Minister of Nunatsiavut. The election took place today during sitting of the Nunatsiavut Assembly in Hopedale.

The First Minister oversees the running of the Nunatsiavut Executive Council, and acts as the Minister of the Department of Nunatsiavut Affairs, responsible for:

- (a) implementation of the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement;
- (b) the administration of justice and the legal services required by the Nunatsiavut Government;
- (c) eligibility and enrolment of Beneficiaries of the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement;
- (d) the management of Nunatsiavut Government public property; and
- (e) housing for Inuit.

Mr. Edmunds replaces Kate Mitchell, who resigned last month as Ordinary Member for Makkovik.

Media Contact:

Bert Pomeroy Director of Communications (709) 896-8582