



March 1, 2017 For Immediate Release

## Lyall tenders resignation as Ordinary Member for Nain following wrongful personal use of Nunatsiavut Government credit card

Nunatsiavut President Johannes Lampe announced today that Mr. Sean Lyall has tendered his resignation as Ordinary Member for the Constituency of Nain effective immediately. The resignation has been accepted by the Speaker of the Nunatsiavut Assembly, Mr. Tyler Edmunds. As a consequence, Mr. Lyall is no longer qualified to hold office as Minister of Culture, Recreation and Tourism in the Nunatsiavut Government.

Earlier today First Minister Kate Mitchell, in consultation with the President, met with Mr. Lyall to advise that he was being relieved of his duties as Minister of Culture, Recreation and Tourism for abusing his position by charging significant amounts to his Nunatsiavut Government credit card for personal entertainment. The First Minister also told Mr. Lyall that an application would be made for a review of his behaviour under the Nunatsiavut Government's Code of Conduct.

"It is imperative that all members of Nunatsiavut Executive Council perform their duties with honour, integrity and dignity, and actions that undermine their position of authority have to be dealt with accordingly," says President Lampe. "Being in a position of public trust, Ministers are expected to uphold the highest standards of ethical behavior and to be accountable for their actions. Mr. Lyall's actions were totally unacceptable."

President Lampe will assume the role as Minister of Culture, Recreation and Tourism on an interim basis. A date for a byelection to fill the seat vacated by Mr. Lyall has not been set.

## **Media Contact:**

Bert Pomeroy Director of Communications (709) 896-8582