



March 27, 2018 For Immediate Release

Candidates declared for May 1 election for Ordinary Members

Nominations closed today at 2 p.m. Atlantic Standard Time for candidates seeking election as Ordinary Members to the Nunatsiavut Assembly.

Elections will be held May 1, 2018 in the Constituencies of Nain, Hopedale, Postville, Rigolet, Upper Lake Melville and Canada. Two seats are available in Nain, Upper Lake Melville and Canada, while one seat is available in all other Constituencies. There will be no election in the Constituency of Makkovik, where incumbent Kate Mitchell has been acclaimed.

LIST OF CANDIDATES

Nain: Tony Andersen Hopedale: Greg Flowers

Henry Broomfield Charlotte Lucy-Piercy

Jim Lyall James Tuttauk Rachel Saunders

Postville: Tyler Edmunds **Makkovik:** Kate Mitchell (acclaimed)

Glen Sheppard

Rigolet: Carlene Palliser **ULM:** Belinda Andersen

Charlotte Wolfrey
Gerald Asivak
Roy Blake
Selina Adams
Sharon Cormier

Edward Blake-Rudkowski Marjorie Flowers
Lela Evans Rose Pamak

Roland Saunders Marlene Winters-Wheeler Charlotte Winters-Fost

Media Contact:

Canada:

Bert Pomeroy
Director of Communications
(709) 896-8582

25 Ikajuktauvik Road, PO Box 70, Nain, NL, Canada AOP 1L0 Toll Free: 1.866.922.2942 Fax: 709.922.2931