



May 8, 2017 For Immediate Release

## **Lyall acclaimed Ordinary Member for Nain**

Former Nunatsiavut President Jim Lyall will be heading back to the Nunatsiavut Assembly after being the lone candidate to file nomination papers for a by-election for Ordinary Member for the Constituency of Nain, set for May 19. The deadline for nominations was 2 p.m. on May 5.

However, as per Section 33 (1) of the Nunatsiavut Elections Act:

If, at the close of the time for nominating candidates ... there is not at least one female candidate for election in each constituency, the Returning Officer shall immediately notify the President and the Nunatsiavut Electoral Officer in writing and the President shall take reasonable steps to nominate a female candidate for election in each constituency no later than 48 hours following the close of the time for nomination of candidates...

Nunatsiavut President Johannes Lampe attempted to find a female candidate, but was not successful in doing so. As a result, no by-election will be held and Mr. Lyall has been acclaimed the winner. He will be swornin as an Ordinary Member during the next sitting of the Nunatsiavut Assembly, scheduled for the week of June 5.

## **Media Contact:**

Bert Pomeroy Director of Communications 709 896-8582