

MEDIA Release

May 5, 2017 For Immediate Release

Only one candidate comes forward for Nain byelection; President taking steps to ensure gender equity

Nominations for candidates to fill a vacant seat in the Nunatsiavut Assembly for the Constituency of Nain closed at 2 p.m. today. James Lyall was the only candidate to file nomination papers.

As per Section 33 (1) of the Nunatsiavut Elections Act:

If, at the close of the time for nominating candidates ... there is not at least one female candidate for election in each constituency, the Returning Officer shall immediately notify the President and the Nunatsiavut Electoral Officer in writing and the President shall take reasonable steps to nominate a female candidate for election in each constituency no later than 48 hours following the close of the time for nomination of candidates...

Nunatsiavut President Johannes Lampe has been contacted by the Nunatsiavut Electoral Officer, and will undertake to nominate a female candidate as per the Act.

If no female candidate is nominated, Mr. Lyall will be acclaimed as the Ordinary Member for Nain. If there is a female candidate, an election will take place on May 19, 2017.

Media Contact: Bert Pomeroy Director of Communications 709 896-8582

25 Ikajuktauvik Road, PO Box 70, Nain, NL, Canada A0P 1L0 Toll Free: 1.866.922.2942 Fax: 709.922.2931

www.nunatsiavut.com