



General Elections for Ordinary Members to the Nunatsiavut Assembly

Beneficiaries of the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement will head to the polls on May 1, 2018 to elect Ordinary Members to the Nunatsiavut Assembly. Polls will be open from 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. Atlantic Standard Time. The Nunatsiavut Government is encouraging Beneficiaries to seek nominations and to vote in the general elections.

Ordinary Members are chosen from the Constituencies of Nain, Hodedale, Postville, Makkovik, Rigolet, Upper Lake Melville and Canada. Two seats are available in Nain, Upper Lake Melville and Canada, while one seat is available in all other Constituencies.

Voting Rules and Regulations

- Every Beneficiary 16 years of age and older on polling day is qualified to vote.
- In order to vote in a polling station in a Constituency, a Beneficiary must be an ordinary resident of that constituency.

There will be no polling station for the Constituency of Canada. Beneficaries residing in the Constituency of Canada shall vote by mail. For more information, please contact the Nunatsiavut Elections Officer, Nannette Blake, 709-896-5222, or nannette.blake@nunatsiavut.com.

Candidates

To be eligible to seek nomination:

- Candidates must be a Beneficiary of the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement, and be at least 18 years of age on nomination day.
- Candidates must be ordinarily resident in the Constituency for which they are nominated.
- Beneficiaries will be disqualified from seeking election as an Ordinary Member if, on nomination day, he or she is:
 - a) an AngajukKâk or the Chairperson of an Inuit Community Corporation;
 - b) appointed by or in the service of the Nunatsiavut Government and is paid for that appointment or service;
 - c) a member of Parliament or the House of Assembly or a Senator;
 - d) of unsound mind;
 - e) an undischarged bankrupt;
 - f) a person who has been convicted of an indictable offence and whose sentence was completed less than five years prior to nomination day or has been convicted of a summary offence and whose sentence is not yet completed; or
 - g) a person who is in arrears in payment of any taxes payable to the Nunatsiavut Government or an Inuit Community Government.

25 Ikajuktauvik Road, PO Box 70, Nain, NL, Canada AOP 1L0 Toll Free: 1.866.922.2942 Fax: 709.922.2931

Returning Officers

Contact information for Returning Officers per Constituency:

Nain	Deidre Kohlmeister	42 Middle Path Road	709-922-2932
Hopedale	Samantha Abel	1 Carpenters Loop	709-933-3736
Makkovik	Elsie Pottle	23 Minx Trap Road	709-923-2215
Postville	Kathleen Shiwak	3 High View Road	709-479-9762
Rigolet	Inez Shiwak	11 Pottle Oceanview Cres.	709-947-3462
ULM	Flora Purchase	14 Corte Real Road	709-896-5683
Canada	Nannette Blake	14 Corte Real Road	709-896-5222

For More Information contact: NUNATSIAVUT ELECTION OFFICE

Office Hours

Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Telephone: 709-896-5222

E-mail: nannette.blake@nunatsiavut.com