



May 11, 2017 For Immediate Release

Recount required for by-election for Ordinary Member for Constituency of Canada

Nunatsiavut Electoral Officer Nannette Blake confirmed today that a recount will be held on the results of the May 10 by-election to fill a vacant seat in the Nunatsiavut Assembly for the Constituency of Canada.

Edward Blake-Rudkowski received 10 more votes than the next closest candidate, triggering an automatic recount as per section 89(1)(a) of the Nunatsiavut Elections Act. Mr. Blake-Rudkowski was among seven candidates who ran in the by-election, called after the resignation of Daniel Pottle earlier this year. Just over 30 per cent of eligible voters cast ballots in the by-election.

Following is the results from the official statement of poll:

Candidate	Votes (Mail-in Ballot)
Edward Blake-Rudkowski	126
Bill Flowers	116
Roland Saunders	106
Tama Fost	91
Susan Onalik	87
Zippie Nochasak	80
Sam Saunders	30

The recount is scheduled to take place on May 17. If the results do not change, then Mr. Blake-Rudkowski will be officially declared the winner and sworn-in as Ordinary Member during the next sitting of the Nunatsiavut Assembly, scheduled for the week of June 5.

Media Contact:

Bert Pomeroy, Communications (709) 896-8582